Al Jazira clinched a dramatic penalty shoot-out victory over Al Ain to lift the 2016 President's Cup after a 1-1 draw within the 90 minutes, being crowned champions by HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, and HH Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Deputy Prime Minister of the UAE. The 6-5 penalty shoot-out victory for Al Jazira featured a save from Khalid Eissa to deny Ali Mabkhout and another stop on Danilo Asprilla by Ali Khaseif, but the decisive penalty kick was missed by Al Ain defender Mohanad Salem to hand the title to Al Jazira.

The first shot on target was registered inside three minutes by Al Jazira, as Sultan Al Suwaidi's pass set up Angel Lafita for a low strike towards Khalid Eissa's near post, whilst Ali Mabkhout could only find the side-netting on the rebound. A lively start to the Final saw Lee Myung Joo shoot straight at Ali Khaseif at the other end within the opening five minutes. Mabkhout's 9th-minute free kick from distance stung the palms of Khalid Eissa again as Al Jazira found the target once more, but the best chance to break the deadlock came after 34 minutes as Al Ain's midfield magician Omar Abdulrahman thrashed a left-footed strike from long range, cannoning back off the base of the post, and five minutes later at the other end the woodwork prevented Ali Mabkhout's deflected effort from creeping in to the top corner.

With plenty of end-to-end action, drama unfolded just before the half-time break with the award of a penalty for Al Jazira after Mohammed Fayez was adjudged to have brought down Mabkhout in the area, and the UAE's star striker stepped up to convert the spot-kick and put his side 1-0 up in the 44th minute. In first-half stoppage time a curling free kick from Omar Abdulrahman clattered the crossbar once more as the goal frame denied Al Ain an equaliser right before the break.

In the 65th minute Al Ain's equaliser finally arrived as Danilo Asprilla's shot was turned in by Douglas for a classic poacher's goal in the box, levelling the tie at 1-1 and prompting Al Jazira to soon introduce towering striker Kenwyne Jones in place of Angel Lafita. A fine 71st-minute save from Ali Khaseif prevented Henk Ten Cate's side from falling behind as he turned Asprilla's strike behind, and from the resulting corner the goalkeeper made another crucial stop to deny Al Ain substitute Ibrahim Diaky. With 81 minutes on the clock Asprilla appeared to have outpaced his markers but Khaseif again did well to force the forward out wide, and he could only find the side netting from a tight angle after a rapid counter-attack, and in the 86th minute a cross-goal shot from Diaky rattled the woodwork for the fourth time in the encounter as the goal posts played an important role in the score line, with the game finishing 1-1 after 90 minutes to send it to a decisive penalty shoot-out.

Al Jazira 0-0 Ali Mabhout saved by Khalid Eissa
Al Ain 1-0 Douglas
Al Jazira 1-1 Fares Juma
Al Ain 2-1 Omar Abdulrahman
Al Jazira 2-2 Khalfan Mubarak
Al Ain 2-2 Danilo Asprilla saved by Ali Khaseif
Al Jazira 3-2 Park Jong Woo
Al Ain 3-3 Rashed Essa
Al Jazira 4-3 Thiago Neves
Al Ain 4-4 Ismail Ahmed
Al Jazira 5-4 Abdullah Mousa
Al Ain 5-5 Lee Myung Joo
Al Jazira 6-5 Mohamed Jamal
Al Ain 5-6 Mohanad Salem missed