Ice hockey took over Zayed Sports City Ice Rink for five days as the President’s Ice Hockey Cup welcomed teams from around the region for stiff competition. Growing from a 12 team competition in 2006 to a 22 team affair this year, the event showcased outstanding hockey efforts from the participants. The event is supported by Ministry of Presidential Affairs and Abu Dhabi Sports Council.

Teams were split into three groups: professional; semi-professional; and recreational. Representing their cities and countries were teams from Abu Dhabi, Al Ain and Dubai as well as Germany, Belarus, Kuwait, Kazakhstan, Qatar, Oman and Bahrain.  
After hard-fought games on the ice, three teams were named champions in their respective divisions. Belarus President Team won the professional section while the Abu Dhabi Scorpions made the host city proud in the semi-professional division. The recreational division was won by the Al Ain Theebs.

To learn more about the sport email